Living Fully


One characteristic I most admire in small children is their ability to live fully in abandon.  They’re not tainted by the skepticism and rules of conformity of society and convention, and whatever they do are either fully into it or fully against it.  There is no middle ground.

I’ve been accused – and rightly so – of being the same.  Either I’m 100% for something or 100% against it, fully engaged or completely uninvolved. There is no half-way for me.  You either have me or you don’t.

One Saturday night I was watching a re-run of The Lawrence Welk Show.  Daniel was only two or at-the-most three years of age.  I was sitting on the couch, eating a piece of pie, and Daniel was twirling, jumping, twisting, shaking and generally dancing his heart out.

As the song came to an end, Daniel made his big close: he twirled around and set his head down upon my lap.  Instead of landing on my lap, his head hit my plate, the plate did a series of end-over-end mid-air twirls of it’s own and landed on the floor.  The pie landed square in Daniel’s ceiling-gazing face.

At that moment I knew my beloved boy was more prone to being in a Three Stooges re-make than Singing in the Rain.  It was an hilarious end to his dancing career, but it reminded me of King David in the Bible.  In utter joy, he abandoned the cultural demands of adulthood, stripped himself to his underwear, and to the chagrin of his wife he danced with all of his might before the Lord (Second Samuel 2:14).

Jesus said, Assuredly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God as a little child will by no means enter it  (Mark 10:15).  There is no half-way when it comes to Jesus.

2 responses to “Living Fully

  1. “…as little children”…the key to His kingdom. Amen!

  2. I pictured the whole thing in my mind!!! My gram LOVED Lawrence Welk.

Leave a Reply

