Grocery Express Lanes


I stood in the check-out line at the grocery store with my cart half-filled.  We’ve just had our first snow of the year with the forecast of 2-6 more inches overnight.  To some of you that isn’t a big deal, but here in the Pacific Northwest a light dusting of snow closes everything.  So the store was very busy.

A man got in line behind me with one item.  I told him he could get in front of me.  He stared like I was green-skinned and had 6 eyeballs.  He stepped to the register.  Then another man got behind me with three items.  I let him pass me.  He thanked me and stepped to the register.

A woman got in line behind me, also with three items.  I let her take my spot in line.  As she placed her items on the conveyor belt she said, “This store really needs an ‘express lane’.”  I replied, “No, it just needs kinder customers.”

This woman was just finishing up as I began bagging my things.  She smiled and said, “You know, you’re right.”

And be kind to one another  (Ephesians 4:32).

2 thoughts on “Grocery Express Lanes

  1. moderatechristian

    I often do this in the store as well…. But three in a row? You are really nice and patient. I’ve never been in this situation exactly, but I’m not sure I would’ve done the same but I probably will in the future.

  2. Richard L Rice

    I like to say, “It takes only a moment to show someone a bit of kindness.” Even if it’s 3 people. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

