Milk Carton Patience


Mrs Clay, my first grade teacher, had each of us save our milk cartons from lunch.  We all drank our 2% milk and then washed the paper cartons in the classroom sink.  With our blunt-end safety scissors, we carefully cut the tops off the cartons, filled the small white boxes with dirt, and using our fingers, pushed a few hard beans deep into the dirt.

Each morning we arrived in the classroom, and with excitement found our own little planter boxes and looked to see if anything had happened over night.  Nothing.  Several days went by with “nothing” sprouting.

We wondered what could be wrong.

Some of, using our fingers or pencils, began digging into the soil, uncovering and breaking the tiny little stems and roots that had begun to sprout from the seeds.  For us, “nothing” continued to grow.  It was a valuable lesson in patience.

God is good to strengthen our hearts and give us as we wait upon Him.  We can be assured that He’s sprouting the seed of something great underneath the soil, hidden from our view, so we can later receive a bountiful harvest.

Wait on the Lord; be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart; wait, I say, on the Lord!  (Psalm 27:14).

4 thoughts on “Milk Carton Patience

  1. I just wanted you to know that you wrote this post for me today.
    I once told a friend that to me, ‘patience’ should be a four letter word. He said it is… W-A-I-T.

    Your post reminded me that waiting has a purpose even when we can’t see it yet. I’m a girl filled with ‘take action’ steps. Sometimes God slows me down so that I don’t miss the many blessings He gifts me with along the way.

  2. Pingback: Spring into tag « doyoumeanwhatiknow

Leave a Reply

