On My Side


seat ring

My congregation met in a small, store-front building.  My son Daniel was probably 2 years old and I’d been teaching him to use the toilet.  Sunday morning, during my sermon, he announced that he was going to use the restroom.  Everyone watched as he trotted off to the small bathroom situated behind the platform from where I was preaching.

He’d been gone a few minutes when screams echoed from the bathroom. I kept preaching while one of the ladies ran to see what was wrong.

The screams faded and moments later the entire congregation discovered why.  Emerging from the restroom was the woman with my son’s hand in hers … and Daniel with the plastic potty-training seat hanging around his neck.

To this day I’m not sure how he got the ring over his head, but if you’re a parent, you know that kids can get their heads stuck in the strangest of places – and it’s always easier to get into the problem than it is to get them out!  I stopped my sermon and worked to get my boy’s head out of the toilet ring.

I called on the LORD in distress; the LORD answered me and set me in the broad place. The LORD is on my side; I will not fear  (Psalm 118:5-6).

2 thoughts on “On My Side

  1. LOL. You preached two sermons that day – one the planned sermon. The other to all the parents in the congregation that even their pastor has interesting problems with children, and that it is important to stop what we are doing and help our child when they are in distress. Methinks the second sermon was the most important. God does have a sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

