A Bad Day


bad day

You’ve had a bad day?

All in one day –

  • Job’s wealth was stolen,
  • Job’s servants all died, and
  • Job’s ten children were all killed (Job 1:13-19).

A few days later –

  • Job’s body was covered from head to foot with painful, puss-filled sores (Job 2:7).

Job said, “Shall we indeed accept good from God, and shall we not accept adversity?”  In all this Job did not sin with his lips (Job 2:10).

What was Job’s secret?

Though He slay me, yet will I trust Him (Job 13:15). He trusted that God was in control of his life, yes, even in death.  Even when he didn’t understand what was happening, Job trusted that God is sovereign.

I go forward, but He is not there, and backward, but I cannot perceive Him; when He works on the left hand, I cannot behold Him; when He turns to the right hand, I cannot see Him. But He knows the way that I take; and when He has tested me, I shall come forth as gold (Job 23:8-10).

Trust God. Today may not be so sweet, but tomorrow you’ll shine like gold!

2 thoughts on “A Bad Day

Leave a Reply

