Alive with Passion


passion

I enjoy words.  I tell people all the time that, “words have meanings, and meanings have consequences.”

When most of us hear the word “lust” all kinds of oozing, creep-crawly, sleazy emotions rise to the surface.  The Biblical word for “lust” simply means “enthusiasm, delight, intense desire, passion.”  Jesus used the word on the night of His betrayal when He told the disciples, With fervent desire I have desired to eat this Passover with you before I suffer (Luke 22:15).

So what are you enthusiastic or passionate about?  For many years I lived without any passion.  Honestly, as I look back, I can say I was alive but wasn’t living.  That passion can be sparked by a special person, an event, or a divine revelation.

I have a friend who re-sparked my passion for music and preaching.  Without that spark, and someone continuing to blow on it with love, encouragement and a perfect partnership, my life would be much different today:  I’d have abandoned my purpose and calling in life.

Paul lustfully encouraged the Corinthians to earnestly desire the best gifts (1 Corinthians 12:31).  He also wrote, my heart’s desire and prayer to God for Israel is that they may be saved (Romans 10:1).

Find and follow your passion in life.  If it’s painting, paint with all your imagination.  If it’s singing, sing as loud as you can.  If it’s loving the person who means most to you, love as if today were your last day.  A life without passion is no life at all.

One thought on “Alive with Passion

  1. Wow what a message,wish u can preach it at our church here in Kenya.

    My passion is witnessing one on one and shepherding.Shepherding or pastoral is more than preaching on a sunday service.It is about caring,protecting,equipping,feeding,reaching out,encouraging,mentoring,inspiring,praying for,supporting,guiding,blessing etc

Leave a Reply

