God Has Your Back


bathroom bully

Junior high school is seldom an easy time in the life of a teenager.  I was a “brain”, shy, tall and skinny, didn’t dress in the latest style, wore glasses, and not at all a popular kid.

One afternoon during my lunch period, I did the unthinkable. I went to use the restroom.  I never did that, but that day I couldn’t wait until I got home.  I had to go.  I went to the men’s room at the far corner of the school building, thinking I’d be alone.  Everything was good until I began to walk out of the restroom.  A bigger kid with a group of his buddies grabbed me by the neck.  All my fears of the restroom had come true.

Out of nowhere, an older boy I’d gone to church with, grabbed the guy who grabbed me.  Someone came to my rescue!  He made the kid holding me let go and I walked out of the restroom a free man.  It made me feel good to know that someone was watching out for me.  I didn’t need to cry out or beg for help.  Chet Austin had my back, even if I didn’t know it.

God has your back just because He is faithful.

But the Lord is faithful, who will establish you and guard you from the evil one (2 Thessalonians 3:3).

2 thoughts on “God Has Your Back

Leave a Reply

