Honoring Your Wife


book lover

I am a book-lover.  I read more than 200 books a year and collect them at every opportunity. At last count, I had over 10,000 books.

Some of my books I agree with, some I buy because I know I’ll disagree but want to be challenged by new ideas.  Some books are for study and others are for the pure pleasure of reading.  Other books are new; some are very old, the oldest just shy of 200 years.  Some are highly prized and collectable; others I can’t give away.  A few, I read over and over again; others I’ve never read.

I handle each book differently.  Many of my books aren’t shown special care because they are common, but the old or rare books are gently cared for and protected because of their value or sentiment.

Husbands, likewise, dwell with them with understanding, giving honor to the wife, as to the weaker vessel, and as being heirs together of the grace of life … (1 Peter 3:7).

The Apostle isn’t writing of men and women in general. Nor is he writing of all marriages.  He’s writing of husbands and wives who are heirs together of the grace of life, husbands and wives who are both born again.

Peter instructs Christian husbands to give honor to their Christian wives because they are the weaker vessel.  Feminists and chauvinists both get it wrong. This doesn’t imply that women are less able than their husbands or that there is any inferiority to men. The Creator of both man and woman knows that the woman is the weaker vessel, and to be offended by His design or to dispute it, is to dispute with God.

Peter is simply reminding the husband that his wife is different than he is, and as such, he must show special care and value toward her.  If she is rare and precious to him, he will honor her. To be cared for, valued, and honored is a blessing – not a curse.

Leave a Reply

