When God is Gone


presence

I will never leave you nor forsake you (Hebrews 13:5).  And lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age (Matthew 28:20).

The promise of the Lord is that He will never leave us. He is Immanuel, God with us (Matthew 1:23). Jesus promised that the Holy Spirit would abide [permanently take up residence] within us (John 14:16). Your body has become the temple where the Holy Spirit dwells (1 Corinthians 6:19).

The problem, however, is that we often feel as if He’s not with us. We pray for Him to be with us, that His presence overfill us, but this means that either God has lied and His Word is untrue and unfaithful – or our feelings and personal beliefs have deceived us.

If you are a child of God through the new birth, you don’t need to pray for His presence or ask for Him to be with you through your day. Instead, you need simply trust that He is a God who keeps His promises and He is with you. You need not pray for what He already is; He can’t be with you any more than is already true, but you can thank Him for always being near you … and within you!

Where can I go from Your Spirit? Or where can I flee from Your presence? If I ascend into heaven, You are there; if I make my bed in Sheol, You are there. If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, even there Your hand shall lead me, and Your right hand shall hold me (Psalm 139:7-10).

One thought on “When God is Gone

Leave a Reply

