Pinwheels in the Yard


pinwheel

My neighbor Rob has been unemployed for several years.  Three years ago I hired him to mow my grass each week. Both of us benefit.

I came home a few weeks ago to find a giant pinwheel in my yard.  You know the kind: common toys from a simpler age. I passed Rob in the street and he said the pinwheel had something to do with the many moles in my yard.

Last week Rob came over to get paid and asked if I’d seen the pinwheels in my yard. (There are now 3 of them). “My grandmother has them in her yard and she doesn’t have a single mole.”

“Did she ever have moles?” I asked. “Or do any of her neighbors have moles?”

“No,” he said, “that’s how I know they work!”

Grandma has toy pinwheels in her yard, therefore she has no moles … even though she’s never had moles and they don’t live around her home.  Makes perfect sense.

This reminds me of people who say, “I know there’s a God because I prayed and my prayer was answered.” I always challenge such people to find in the Bible where answered prayer is given as proof of the truth of Christianity or the existence of the Biblical God.  Muslims claim answered prayer. So do Hindus, Mormons, Jehovah’s Witnesses, and those who call on the “universe”. Answered prayer is simply not a theological proof of anything.

How do we know that God exists?  How do we know who He is?  How do we know that Jesus is God in human flesh, sent to save mankind from sin?  How do we know that Christianity is the one true faith?  I believe the Bible.

Critics claim that faith is blindly accepting some-thing as true. That’s not Christianity however. To the Christian, faith is trust in God as He is revealed by the historical facts in the Bible.

Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. … By faith we understand that the worlds were framed by the Word of God, so that the things which are seen were not made of things which are visible (Hebrews 11:1, 3).

Faith … substance … evidence … understanding … the Word of God.

We’ll see if the pinwheels drive the moles from my yard … I’ll believe the facts.

One thought on “Pinwheels in the Yard

  1. Pingback: Trusting, Faith, Calling and Ascribing to Jehovah #16 Benefits of praying | Free Christadelphians : Belgian Ecclesia Brussel - Leuven

Leave a Reply

