Ashamed


Richard L Rice

I got my eyeglasses when I was in the first grade. It was impossible to read the chalkboard in Mrs Clay’s first grade class.  She refused to move me closer to the front of the room because everyone was seated alphabetically.  With the last name of Rice, I was stuck in the back.

Later that school year I got my first pair of eyeglasses.  No 6-year old boy wants to be seen wearing big, clunky, black-rimmed glasses.  Even then I was embarrassed and my imagination raced.  What would the other kids think? What awful names would I be called? Would anyone like me? The answer was to hide my glasses so no one could know my secret.

It was a short walk from home and through the alleyway to Peter Boscow School. I took my glasses off and tucked them into my pocket.  Once at school I’d sneak them into my desk without anyone noticing and then I’d be normal like everyone else.

One day the weather was warm and I hurried home after school to play.  I wasn’t out long when my mother asked where my glasses were.  What could I say?  I was “busted.”

Mom took me back to school where I had to find a janitor and then ask to be let back into my classroom.  In the 41 years since, I’ve never gone a day without wearing my glasses. They are as much a part of my life as my eyeballs are.  I’m not ashamed by them.  I depend on them.

Some of us are ashamed by things or people in our lives. We hide them in our pocket or desk and bring them out only when we think that no one we know will see us. We keep them a secret out of fear. Some of us treat Jesus this way. He’s fine to be seen with on Sunday … usually, but during the week we hide Him so there isn’t any conflict, shame or embarrassment.  You may not hide Him completely, but enough to not cause any trouble.

But if Jesus has given you perfect sight so you can see, why would you hide Him?

I am not ashamed, for I know whom I have believed (1 Timothy 1:12).

One thought on “Ashamed

Leave a Reply

