Seeing God


see God

My son Daniel got in the car after school.  “My teacher just asked me if I’ve ever seen God.  When I said ‘no’, my teacher asked, ‘then how do you know He exists?’  I didn’t know what to say.”

I immediately quoted to Daniel: And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth  (John 1:14).  Then added, “This was written by a man who saw, heard, touched, and knew Jesus.  John wrote in the Bible that Jesus is God in human flesh, and I trust the Bible as the Word of God without error.  I have seen God in the face of Jesus Christ in the Bible.”

Jesus reminded His disciples that if they heard His words, they were hearing the Father (John 12:49). If they saw His works, they were seeing the deeds of the Father (John 14:9). This doesn’t mean that Jesus is the Father. They are two distinct personages, each with His own personality, will, emotion, and being, but with the Spirit, are the One Godhead.

If you have “seen” Jesus in the pages of Scripture, and personally know Him to be the Son of God in power and glory, God-enfleshed, then you understand the words of the Apostle Paul in Second Corinthians 4:6 –

For it is the God who commanded light to shine out of darkness who has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ. 

The next day Daniel went back to school and told his teacher what I’d said. Then he shared a quotation I shared at church by JC Ryle, “Never does a person see any beauty in Christ as a Saviour, until they discover that they are a lost and ruined sinner.”

Leave a Reply

