Angels Unaware


angels unaware

It was days before Christmas 2006, and Daniel and I were on our way home at 10:30 at night after visiting some family members. Our car was hit by a man unfamiliar with the area who was speeding through an intersection with the highway. The impact occurred at my 7-year old son’s car door.

Daniel was bleeding from the head and I could see shards of broken glass protruding from his brain. The car door was crunched, but I was able to pull him through the window and laid him on the cold pavement in the middle of the busy intersection.

Almost immediately I was surrounded by a group of people who took to his care. Police told me later that one of the cars that stopped to help was driven by a retired Emergency Medical Team employee, and another car was occupied by a nurse and a doctor.

The ambulance took us into Portland to the nearest trauma unit for children: Emanuel Hospital.  Daniel hadn’t said a word since the accident, but in the ambulance he finally spoke.  “Daddy, am I going to die?”

Scenes of Abraham preparing to sacrifice his own son for the glory of God burst upon my mind.  I remembered back to when I had dedicated him unto the Lord, knowing that my son was a gift from God, given into my care for only as long as He willed it, and I again gave Him into my Sovereign’s hands.

We were met by a team of doctors and nurses who rushed Daniel off to be treated. I stood in the hallway, refusing to be examined, but saying, “Don’t look at me, just take care of my son.”

A short, dark-haired woman wearing the typical blue scrubs stopped in front of me.  “Do you know where you are?” she asked.

“Yes, Emanuel Hospital,” I replied.

“Do you know what that means?”

I remember being calmly at peace and answering, “Yes, God with us.”

She said, “Daniel is going to be fine” and then she disappeared.

I can’t say for sure, but I’ve always believed the nurse who reminded me that we were at the “God with us” Hospital, was an angel.

Are not the angels ministering spirits sent forth to minister for those who will inherit salvation? (Hebrews 1:14).

Today is Daniel’s 15th birthday and I thank God for one more year of being able to care for His gift on loan to me and this world.

2 thoughts on “Angels Unaware

Leave a Reply

