Six-Sided Junk


Hex set

When I bought my home 20 years ago, my step-father gave me a housewarming gift that I wasn’t so “warmed” about.

It was red plastic pouch with a bunch of “L” shaped metal pieces. The pouch went into the closet with everything else I didn’t want.

One day, years later, the headlight on my car went out. I purchased a new lamp to install.  Let’s see: new lamp, two screwdrivers, cloth rag. I was ready to play Mr Fix-it.

I lifted the hood of the car, picked up the screwdriver …. but was stumped to discover neither of my screwdrivers would fit the screws holding in the broken lamp.  Rather than a “standard” or “Phillips” screw, it was a weird six-sided screw-head. What-in-the -world?

Somewhere in the back of my mind I remembered that crazy gift my step-father had given me years before.  I dug around in the closet and found the red pouch. “Hex Set” was imprinted on the red plastic. Each of the funny little metal pieces were 6-sided and worked in the screws in my automobile.

All along, I’d had a precious gift I discounted, not knowing that it would one-day be of great value. What I thought was “bad” was really a “blessing”.

The Bible teaches us that God is good to His children and only gives to us good and perfect gifts (James 1:17). Sometimes we look at what the Father gives us and say, “This isn’t any good” or “Satan has given me something bad.” But as a child of God, Satan doesn’t give me anything. He holds no control over my life because I am the dwelling place of the eternal Godhead (1 Corinthians 3:17), bought with the precious blood of Jesus Christ and so I belong to Him (1 Corinthians 6:19-20).

We must be more careful with everything God brings into our lives, never misjudging these gifts God intends for our good and His glory (Romans 8:28).

Leave a Reply

