Playing Church


Jesus knocking

Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me (Revelation 3:20).

Have you ever heard this verse and asked yourself: “What door is Jesus standing outside of?

When I come home after being away for the day, I never knock at the door of my own home. I simply walk in.

That Jesus is knocking tells me that the door He stands before is not His home. Jesus is speaking to the church people in the Turkish city of Laodicea (Rev 3:14). These people claimed to be His followers but were trusting in their own resources, abilities, and deeds rather than in Him (verses 17-18).

Ancient Laodicea’s water came from an aqueduct that flowed a great distance. By the time the water reached the city, it was warm and dirty. Just as warm water isn’t refreshing, these believers were unpleasant in the Master’s mouth and He vows to vomit them out. He would rather they be hot for Him – or cold for Him – but not playing somewhere in-between (verses 15-16).

How sad to think of Jesus, the Head of the Church, having to stand outside a group using His name and supposedly His, yet having to knock for entrance.

3 thoughts on “Playing Church

  1. Very good observation! I always thought He was knocking on the door of an un-believer, but not one that was a church goer and supposed follower! My mom had this painting hanging in the dining room of our home when I was a child, she used to always point out to everyone that there was no door handle to be seen in the picture–meaning entrance could only be made by someone opening the door from the inside—Jesus knocks but He cannot enter unless we open the door and let Him in.

Leave a Reply

