God’s Birdhouse


bird house

The earth is the Lord’s and the fullness thereof (1 Corinthians 10:26).

When may son was a young boy, I gave him a small ceramic birdhouse which we hung from the ceiling in his bedroom. About a year ago I noticed that it was missing. He’d taken and given it away. At first I was angry with him for not keeping something I thought was important … and something I felt was mine in a way.

My wise son told me, “It belonged to me and I could do whatever I wanted with it.”

Do you believe the Holy Scriptures when God says that everything belongs to Him?

Does “everything” include you?

Does your home belong to Him? Your clothes? Your job? Your health? Your money? Your past, present and future? Your salvation? Your children? Your very life?

“Whoa!” you say. “Everything belongs to God except for the things that belong to me!” Then God is a liar and His Word cannot be true. But if all things belong to Him, isn’t He free to do with His things as He decides? Why find pride in man’s free-will but deny God free-will?  Isn’t God within His right to take what is His? Withhold it? Honor it? Or even destroy it?

Who are you, O man, who answers back to God? The thing molded will not say to the molder, “Why did you make me like this,” will it? Or does not the potter have a right over the clay, to make from the same lump one vessel for honorable use and another for common use? What if God, although willing to demonstrate His wrath and to make His power known, endured with much patience vessels of wrath prepared for destruction? (Romans 9:20-22, NIV).

One thought on “God’s Birdhouse

  1. Pingback: God's Birdhouse | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

