Every Opportunity to Speak


bagging groceries

After dropping Daniel at school on Tuesday mornings, I do my grocery shopping for the week.  This morning I did my shopping and headed toward one of the two cashiers I always use.

Iris, a 60-something battling cancer, saw me standing in her checkout line, smiled, pointed, and shouted, “Just the man I’ve been waiting to see.  I have a question for you.” Iris and I often talk matters of faith and politics.

She loudly continued, “My brother told me I need to keep my big mouth shut about the moral decay in our country. As a Christian, shouldn’t I speak up when things are wrong?”

As I bagged my groceries I explained, “I believe that we are living in the end of days. All that we see happening around us is prophesied in the Scriptures.  In the Apostle Paul’s Second letter to Timothy, he warned of what society will degenerate to in these last times. His command was for the people of God to “preach the Word.”

Then, in front of a line of waiting customers, I explained the sinfulness of mankind, the need for and possibility of redemption through the death of Jesus at Calvary, and that through personal trust in Christ’s death and resurrection the sinner can be forgiven and made a child of God.

Preach the word! Be ready in season and out of season. Convince, rebuke, exhort, with all long-suffering and teaching (2 Timothy 4:2).

Leave a Reply

