New Pit Stick


This image is for illustrative purposes only.

I’m a coupon clipper and user. Lately it seems there have been a great number of coupons in my mailbox for deodorant. I’m not usually a brand-name shopper, but do my best to make every dollar stretch as much as possible, so I’m willing to try new things.

This morning while I was praying, pondering the Scripture, planning sermons, and tanning in the backyard (I’m also a multi-tasker), I rolled over to get some sun on my back and paused. “What is that amazing smell?” I asked myself. It was a new deodorant I had used for the first time that morning. I took a few more sniffs before finishing the shift to my stomach.

Have you ever found yourself always returning to the same book of the Bible? I had a family member who used to say, “I only read the Psalms. It’s the only book of the Bible I enjoy” (or, I think, understood).

The poetry of the Psalms is great, but have you ever tried the wisdom of the Proverbs, the questions of Ecclesiastes, the grand theology of Romans, or the heroic stories of Judges?

The next time you open your Bible, remember my new deodorant, and give another portion of Scripture a try. You might be surprisingly pleased at the scent of God’s presence you discover there!

All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, so that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work (2 Timothy 3:16-17).

One thought on “New Pit Stick

Leave a Reply

