The Sermon on the Mount (Revised)


writing

The Sermon on the Mount Revised: “Be nice.”

I try to keep this daily blog to 400 words or less. It’s not always easy.

Some devotional blogs I read are so short I can imagine the author re-writing the Bible to say simply: “You’re a sinner. Jesus died. Be saved.”

A short answer may be sweet, but it’s seldom real help for real life. There’s a place for brevity, but brevity almost never addresses the greater issues of mortal or eternal life. If Adam was perfect, how could he sin? Why does God hold me responsible for Adam’s sin? If God is good, why do bad things happen to good people? I’m a good person, so how can you call me a sinner? If God loves everyone, why must I be saved? If Jesus died for everyone, isn’t everyone saved? etc. These questions require more than 50 words.

Others I open in the morning and find there to be “4,816 additional words.”  I’m prone to just clicking the “like” box and convincing myself I’ll return and read it in full some other day. [If you do this, click the “like” box on my blog now]. Seriously … I will read your blog later today.

People write for different reasons. Some write to express what they can’t say verbally or have no one who will listen if they do verbalize. Some write expecting to share great wisdom and after a month or two realize they’ve exhausted their vast wisdom. Others write to argue or to simply reflect.

We read for the same reasons.

So what’s my point? Why did God give us the Bible? It wasn’t to entertain us, bore us, confuse us, educate us, satisfy us, or keep preachers in business. He gave us His Word to reveal Himself. Why 66 books and 788,258 words? To reveal that He is greater than any language can contain. Why, then, can so many words be put into such simple ideas as: “In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth“? So that even the simplest-minded can know Him.

And beginning at Moses and all the Prophets, Jesus expounded to them in all the Scriptures the things concerning Himself (Luke 24:27)

Leave a Reply

