Building a Church


building a church

The goal of most pastors is to build their churches. It’s more than just “the more the merrier” feeling, but a belief that a bigger congregation equals either spiritual or material success. They’re convinced that God is most glorified and pleased with a lot of people in one place at one time.

Jesus said that growing the Church was His prerogative (Matthew 16:18). “Well, as a pastor, don’t you want to see more people in your church?” No, I want to see more people in the Kingdom of God. Once they’re saved, I want them in a Bible preaching and teaching church where Jesus is exalted and worship of the Father in spirit and truth occurs. It doesn’t need to be my church.

If you truly believe that the Church belongs to Christ Jesus, that He builds it according to His will and way, and that He is the Lord of the harvest, stop determining success by numbers. Instead, focus on your faithfulness to His call upon your life.

And if you are attending a church: it’s not about how many people are there, but how faithful that church is to honoring the Lord with the truth of the Scripture.

Who then is Paul, and who is Apollos, but ministers through whom you believed, as the Lord gave to each one? I planted, Apollos watered, but God gave the increase. So then neither he who plants is anything, nor he who waters, but God who gives the increase (1 Corinthians 3:5-7).

3 thoughts on “Building a Church

  1. Isaac Mathembe

    Amen pastor,these words are true and very encourging.I serve avery small cogregation.My desire is to grow them in the fear of the Lord,that they may know and experience Christ as long as they live and more important that they may pass the same to the generations to come.That way the kingdom can grow for the glory of God our Father.

  2. I’m so glad to be back in my home church. My spirit has always felt fed there. Some pastors I’ve felt more connection to than others. But my purpose was not necessarily to like my pastor. My purpose was to come and hear the Word of God. To have my faith renewed, and my heart refreshed. It’s a place of connection for me to listen and to hear my own call from God sending me’ out there’ to do His work. Sometimes its been on a church council, other times it’s been out in the world.
    You do good work Pastor Richard. You do His work.

  3. So often our focus is more on the church than on Christ … we eagerly invite people to church while failing to invite them to Jesus … I was apart from organized religion for about 7 years yet closer to Jesus than ever yet fellow believers would simply walk away because I wasn’t ‘attending’ church just shaking their heads … I so believe our opening question with other believers should be ‘What is Jesus doing in your life?’ not ‘How are things at church?’ … some thoughts from a rebel against religion.

Leave a Reply

