The Hole in My Pocket


pocket hole

Sorting though some clothes in my closet the other day, I discovered a pair of shorts I’d forgotten about. I put them on, filled the pockets with my keys, cell phone, a Kleenex, and my regular handful of change and paperclips and set out for my day.

I reached the grocery store and found all the change in my pocket was gone.  I convinced myself that it had fallen out while in the car.  When I was done shopping, I put my hand in my pocket to get my car keys and discovered the keys were gone. I knew I’d put them in my right pocket. I put my hand in my pocket again and discovered a hole. Everything I’d put into that pocket had fallen out. Then I remembered the reason I’d put those shorts away in the closet … I needed to mend the hole.

Making this discovery, how wise would I be tomorrow to put on the very same pair of shorts, fill my pockets with my essentials, and head out for the day?

The Apostle John wrote to believers that The world is passing away, and the desires of it; but he who does the will of God abides forever (1 John 2:17).

Knowing that this world, and the things of this world, are soon coming to an end, don’t continue putting everything in your holey pocket.

One thought on “The Hole in My Pocket

  1. Pingback: The Hole in My Pocket | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

