One Million Dollars


pch million dollars

If tomorrow you woke up and discovered that you had won a million dollars in a contest, what would you do with the money?

  • Pay off your house or buy a new one?
  • Get that new car you’ve always wanted?
  • Set aside money for your granddaughter’s college education?
  • Take a dream vacation to Toledo, Ohio?
  • Have a brow lift, a tummy tuck, and a rear-end alignment?

I read an article in the news today about two famous political figures of our day, both very wealthy and from opposite ends of the American political spectrum. One man plays golf on his days off; the other man provides free eye surgery procedures in his home state and in third world nations. This got me thinking ….

One of my heroes of theology once wrote that God doesn’t judge His children on how much they give, but on how much they have left over after they give.

We may be very careful to pencil-out our ten percent each month and lay it in the offering plate. We’re confident that we’ve given God exactly what He deserves and asks, but is this giving from the heart or from the head?

After being in Kenya for two weeks, I was reminded of how gracious God has been: I was born in a land of over-abundance (even among the poor). I live in a land where farmers are paid by the government to dump milk down the drains and people buy clothes and jewelry for their dogs. Our toddlers use i-pads, our pre-teens have cell phones, and we spend hundreds of dollars on cable tv for channels we never watch. Before we can get out day started, some of us fork-out $8 each morning for a cup of coffee. Evangelists own jets. There’s nothing necessarily wrong in any of these things, and yet I wonder …

What would I do with a million dollars?

Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also (Matthew 6:21).

John Wesley once said, “Money never stays with me long, I give it away as fast as I get it lest it burn a hole through my pocket and into my heart.”

2 thoughts on “One Million Dollars

Leave a Reply

