But Now I See


blind eyes

I once was lost, but now I’m found; was blind, but now I see.

The room was dark and cool at the Pacific University School of Optometry, but after a long wait, I was leaving with my first pair of glasses. All the drive home I was amazed that I could see individual leaves on trees and rocks on the ground. I didn’t know it was possible. I was so thankful for the work of the optometrist!

Those early years of my life, I thought I could see just as well as everyone else. I didn’t know that my sight was blinded.

Blind men – until they’re told – don’t know that they are unlike seeing people. Blind men can’t will themselves to see.  They can’t change their eyesight by choice. For a blind person to see clearly, it demands an outside source acting upon him.  He cannot do it on his own.

The unsaved man thinks he sees clearly. He has it all figured out: life, spirituality, purpose, meaning, death, etc, but no matter how hard he tries, he can’t see. He is blinded by his own sin and a veil of satanic deception.  Even if our gospel is veiled, it is veiled to those who are perishing, whose minds the god of this age has blinded, who do not believe, lest the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine on them (2 Corinthians 4:3-4).

No one knows he is spiritually blind until God reveals that fact. Until that veil of blindness is removed no one can see, understand, or accept the salvation God has provided in Jesus. No matter what we think, no one can will or decide himself to spiritual sight. God alone bestows a gift of seeing-faith to those of His choosing. He alone, through an act of amazing grace, opens the eyes of the blind to see Jesus.

As many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, to those who believe in His name: who were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but the will of God (John 1:12-13).

One thought on “But Now I See

  1. Pingback: But Now I See | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

