Joy and Rejoicing


On the way to church

I dropped my pants and the young lady smiled and said, “Thank you.” She lifted them from the counter at the department store and waved the label of the new jeans across the scanner.

“How has your day been?” she asked with surprising bubble to her voice. I told her that my day had been great and returned the question to her.

She joyfully talked about her day, how fortunate she was to be working, and how she kept a glad attitude because it was the only way to make it through the day.

We drove across the street to another store. The young man at the counter never greeted us, never smiled, never engaged us, and never thanked us for shopping at his place of business. He was joy-less.

Each Sunday, churches are filled with sad people. They enter the building tired from the week, burdened with worries, dreading another boring encounter with a lifeless pastor yawning words he stole from the internet the night before. These are people without joy. One could wonder if they have personally experienced the Good News of Jesus. I suspect that Good News always brings joy.

Your words were found, and I ate them, and Your word was to me the joy and rejoicing of my heart; For I am called by Your name, O Lord God of hosts (Jeremiah 15:16).

Leave a Reply

