Deception


deception

I was leaving to spend the weekend with my dad and I wasn’t happy. I was unhappy about having to go, but I was also unhappy with my mom.

Before leaving for the weekend, I made a series of short poems, each containing a clue to another poem I’d hid somewhere in the house.

No sooner had my siblings and I left, I felt terrible about what I’d done. I knew that my trick would hurt her feelings, but it was too late to do anything.

When my mom discovered the first poem, she thought it was going to be a fun adventure. She thought she’d track clue by clue to discover some wonderful treasure. Instead, the last poem was simple but not very creative: “I HATE YOU.”

It was a cruel game I’d played with her feelings and her mind. I’d deceived her with words.

The Apostle Peter warned us false teachers who will secretly bring in destructive heresies, even denying the Lord…. By covetousness they will exploit you with deceptive words (2 Peter 2:1, 3).

Leave a Reply

