On the Ropes


Benjamin Lovitz tightrope walking the Steel Bridge, Portland, OR

In early August, police were called to the imaginatively named “Steel Bridge” near my hometown. Ben Lovtiz was attempting to walk across the steel cables used to raise and lower the bridge for river traffic. After about 10 minutes hovering on the 270-foot high cables, he climbed down and was promptly arrested. Lovitz claimed it was his birthday and he just wanted an un-obstructed photo of the sunrise.

Quite a feat! I have a hard enough time walking down a 3 foot wide concrete sidewalk without stumbling. No person, no sunrise, and no birthday celebration is getting me on a tightrope more than an inch off the ground. Never.

Frankly, sometimes my life feels like I’m on a tightrope. I’m doing my best to balance all the demands of life, avoiding extremes on either side, battling whispered words against me, drowning out spectators urging me to jump, and challenging my own fears about heading back to where I began or the difficulties of reaching the other side.

As I walk the tightrope of ordinary on-the-ground-life, I’m reminded that I’m not a performer in a high-wire circus act. I’m just a guy doing my best from day-to-day with the exception that I walk with Jesus. He knows “the ropes” and He will get me to the other side of whatever I face safely.

The Lord God is my strength; He will make my feet like deer’s feet, and He will make me walk on my high hills (Habakkuk 3:19).

2 thoughts on “On the Ropes

  1. Pingback: On the Ropes | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

