The Giver and the Gift


walk in the dark

As we walk in the night, my right hand gently clasps yours in love; my left hand holds the rose you gave to seal our love.

In the darkness, my path seems to become less clear. Then, in an unforeseen moment, I stumble in the tangle of life beneath my feet. I must choose: I can either release the grasp of your loving hand or drop the memento of your love.

I must either release the Giver or the gift. Which do I love and desire more? In which do I glory?

Gifts pass away, but the Giver remains.

Love never fails. Whether there are prophecies, they will fail; whether there are tongues, they will cease; whether there is knowledge, it will vanish away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part (1 Corinthians 13:8-9).

One thought on “The Giver and the Gift

Leave a Reply

