The Triumph of My Experience


My Teddy Bear

I was only 6-years old when I decided that my King Kong toy needed a hair cut. I carefully trimmed it’s tuft of hair, but my young hands cut a bit too much “off the top.” By the time I was done evening things up, King Kong was bald.

Horrified at the results, I turned to science. I mixed some water-color paints together, applied the concoction to the toy’s mane, and waited. After a few minutes, I was absolutely certain the plastic hair was growing back. I saw it with my own eyes!!!

I ran upstairs to my room and grabbed my beloved teddy bear. After a previous swim in the bathtub he’d lost an eye, much of an ear, and sported a red suture down his back where my mother had replaced his stuffing. I painted my bear with the green paint and waited, fully expecting the eye to grow back and the wound on it’s back to heal. My personal experience was all the truth I needed.

One person prayed to Mary and the prayer came true, so Mary must answer prayers! Another “planted a seed” by sending his rent money to the television evangelist; thirty-days later an unexpected check arrived in the mail. Someone else had a vision of a steam train rushing through a dark tunnel and was convinced it was a sign from God he was going to get married. Another had a bird poop on his head and started selling it as a hair-growth formula.

We live in an age when Christians have replaced personal experience for the Bible as truth. Some folk once looked in the Bible for a shred of  twisted “evidence” to back up their experiences, but not even that trick is used any longer. Now a million people have a million different experiences and each one is touted as spiritual truth.

God’s Word is now a secondary source of truth, if considered at all.

Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the Word of Truth. But shun profane and vain babblings, for they will increase to more ungodliness (2 Timothy 2:15-16).

3 thoughts on “The Triumph of My Experience

  1. Pingback: The Triumph of My Experience | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

