Things


john-wesley

The English preacher John Wesley was a man who lived very simply, and he did so by choice. He accepted only enough money from the ministry to maintain a simple lifestyle. This was a bone of contention with both his wife and many of his followers who believed a man of his influence deserved to enjoy the finer things of his position. Instead, he insisted: “Money never stays with me long, I give it away as fast as I get it lest it burn a hole through my pocket and into my heart.”

Wesley’s example has had a profound impact on my own life. I live with little in this world, but it is still a fortune compared to what so many others possess. Newer things always become out-of-date, bigger things end up smaller than the next model, and more things have a way of being less after only a few days.

My lifestyle is not by government compulsion or wealth-guilt pushed on me by some do-gooder liberal hypocrite; it is my willful choice to live “less” so I have more to invest in the work of God in this world.

And when the time comes for me to leave this world, I can’t take with me a newly-built house, shiny car, jewelry box, or padded-bank account. In fact, I will exit with only one thing more than I entered: Jesus. My Heavenward flight will not come with any added baggage fees. Instead, I’ll find the money and time and effort I invest in His work today, still affecting others tomorrow.

… let every one labor, working with his hands what is good, that he may have something to give him who has need (Ephesians 4:28).

One thought on “Things

  1. Pingback: Things | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

