When You Pray


Mount St Helens

I spent the night babysitting and the following morning my mom picked me up for church. It was May 18, 1980.

When I got into the car my mom asked if I’d known that Mount St Helens, less than 60 miles away, exploded just a bit earlier. After months of warnings, the mountain finally blew her top and the volcanic ash dusted the ground, the cars, and the plants.

It wasn’t exactly a mountain being cast into the sea, but it was the closest I’ve ever seen.

Jesus said, Have faith in God. For I say to you, whoever says to this mountain, ‘Be removed and be cast into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart, but believes that those things he says will be done, he will have whatever he says (Mark 11:22-23).

Some say Jesus was a liar. Critics accuse Him of dishonesty or exaggeration. Others might suggest this as proof that no one has faith in God. When was the last time you saw a Christian move a mountain into the sea?

Jesus was making a point and used exaggeration to make that point in a clear and unforgettable manner: God can do anything, so trust Him when you pray.

I don’t expect to ever pray and see Mount St Helens picked up and cast into the Pacific Ocean; I do, however, know that God answers prayer.

 

One thought on “When You Pray

  1. Pingback: When You Pray | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

