More Sunshine


no money

I waited in line at the grocery store counter this morning as Marlys rang up the items for the young couple in front of me and announced their total due. The young woman’s face turned red and desperate as she looked at her boyfriend. His face mirrored hers then turned to the floor. The woman asked the cashier to back-scan each item until they got to the small dollar balance left on her welfare card. Marlys back-scanned … oranges … milk … a loaf of bread …

I walked behind the counter and whispered to Marlys, “I’ll pay their bill.”  The young lady protested while her boyfriend’s eyes never left the ground.

“No, I insist. I’ve been in the same place you are, but nobody helped me. I don’t want you to feel embarrassed like I was. I’m doing this in the name of Jesus. God bless you.”

Tearfully she asked my name. Marlys blurted it out. Then the woman asked for my address so she could pay me back.  I laughed. “I live in Oregon. I’m just an Oregonian doing this in Jesus’ name.”

The boyfriend wiped tears off his whiskered face and bagged their items.

As I returned to my cart, the elderly woman next in line took me by the arm. “That was a very kind thing you did. Thank you.” Then, with a smirk on her face, she asked, “Are you going to pay for mine too?”

God doesn’t keep us here on earth to be secure or at ease in our belongings or persons. As His kids, we live to bring Him glory, and that’s so much more than going to church on Sunday and singing songs.

I’m not rich by American standards, but if we as Christians helped others more in situations like this, people wouldn’t depend on the government as much as they do. If we as Christians showed our devotion to Christ more in situations like this, there would be a little more sunshine in our own lives. It’s not about being nice or good or performing good deeds, it’s about honoring our God in all we do.

Command those who are rich in this present age not to be proud, nor to trust in uncertain riches but in the living God, who gives us richly all things to enjoy. Let them do good, that they be rich in good works, ready to give, willing to to share, storing up for themselves a good foundation for the time to come, that they may lay hold on eternal life (1 Timothy 6:17-19).

3 thoughts on “More Sunshine

  1. Isaac Mathembe

    Amen and Amen.My goodness, this is so touching.Am blessed and more am humbled by your humilty,generosity and a spirit of service to God.God bless you my dear friend.By the way my family has grown and i will write more about that on a different platform.

  2. Pingback: More Sunshine | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

