Toothbrush in the Toilet


Homer Simpson

Have you ever discovered that the problem you made wasn’t a problem to God?

Sitting through 3 cycles of the traffic signal when it usually only takes one. Mis-setting your alarm clock by only one digit – but the difference between 6:59 and 6:00 is huge! Dropping your toothbrush in the toilet. Your left shoe is missing Monday morning … and you don’t have a child or a dog.

Oh, what peace we often forfeit; Oh, what needless pain we bear!

We were running late, which isn’t good for the pastor on Sunday morning. I pulled the car into the street and realized I’d forgotten to grab my check for the offering. I always write out my check to the church each payday so I don’t forget, but that week I totally spaced it. I ran back into the house, ripped a blank check from the book, shoved it into my pants pocket, and rushed back out the door.

We arrived at the church building and headed inside. Climbing the stairs I passed John. “How are you this morning Pastor?”

“Oh, it’s one of those days,” I answered sarcastically.

“I know. This week our van stopped working and it’s in the repair shop. I have a job interview tomorrow and no way to get there.”

John went his way and I went mine. Soon I remembered the blank check in my pocket. I unwrinkled it, wrote in the tenth of my paycheck, and then made it payable to John. I went downstairs to where I knew I’d find him, put it into his hand, and rushed back to where I needed to be.

A few minutes later John was standing next to me. “You didn’t need to do this,” and returned my check. I pressed it back into his hand and explained there was a reason I’d left home with a blank check, that I’d met him on the stairs, and that he’d told me about his need.

John thanked me. “The check is the amount I need to pay for the van.”

There is a peace that comes from knowing  that God has a divine plan and purpose for everything in our lives. If only we’d learn that He doesn’t make mistakes, even in the midst of what we perceive as problems.

For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts (Isaiah 55:9).

5 thoughts on “Toothbrush in the Toilet

  1. Pingback: Toothbrush in the Toilet | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

