Sins of My Youth


Joe Namath

I turned on the evening news just as a reporter was being introduced for the first time. It was a guy a few years younger than myself with whom I’d gone to school. A hometown boy making it in the big city! I was impressed.

Then I remembered his sister. Trina had been in my class.

We were playing football in PE class when Mr Denley blew his whistle and yelled for everyone to bring the balls back to be put away. I threw the ball like mighty Joe Namath toward the pile of other balls. Instead of hitting the pile of balls, I hit Trina in the back of the head … hard.

She fell to the ground crying and turned to see who had thrown the ball. I spun around to face the group of other kids standing nearby me. No big deal, huh? That’s why I still remember it more than 40 years later.

Do not remember the sins of my youth, nor my transgressions; according to Your mercy remember me, for Your goodness’ sake, O Lord (Psalm 25:7).

** Okay! Okay! Okay! Yes, I could really throw a football like Joe Namath … if he was blindfolded, passing left handed, and in a full body cast.

One thought on “Sins of My Youth

Leave a Reply

