Man’s Tradition


thumbs up

Some while back I preached a series of messages in a certain church. After my first sermon, a man came forward to shake my hand. “That was a wonderful sermon. I’ve never heard anything like it before, but you forgot to give the benediction. We always have a benediction.”

I apologized and told him that no one had informed me of that tradition and I assured him that the following Sunday there would be a benediction.

After my second sermon I asked one of the leaders of the church to stand and provide a closing benediction. When all was said and done, the man from the previous week returned to me. “You are a great preacher. You touch the heart of me and my family each time with your words … but you forgot to give the benediction.”

I smiled, thanked him for his kind words, then pointed out that one of the church leaders had given a benediction. The gentleman cocked his head and said, “Oh, okay.”

After my third sermon, the man approached me again. “Your preaching brought tears to my eyes and the eyes of my whole family. I saw people all around the room with tears. To make so many grown men cry is a powerful thing. But again you had no benediction.”

“But I did give a benediction. When I was done preaching I read the benediction from the Apostle Paul in Romans 16:27: To God, alone wise, be glory through Jesus Christ forever. Amen.” The gentleman looked confused by my answer. By now I was totally confused too, so I asked him to explain what he wanted.

“When you’re done with your sermon, we’re all supposed to say, ‘God be with you, go in peace.'”

This fellow needed a particular tradition carried out to feel complete; the Word of God wasn’t enough.

The word of God is living and powerful; and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart (Hebrews 4:12).

I ended my fourth sermon with the words, “God be with you, go in peace.” The fellow gave me two thumbs up from his seat and left.

3 thoughts on “Man’s Tradition

  1. Pingback: Man's Tradition | Christians Anonymous

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.