Trapped in My Own Thoughts


Anxiety

One sentence stood out as I read the devotional book with my wife this morning. Sarah Young wrote, “Anxiety wraps you up in yourself, trapping you in your own thoughts.”

I think it’s part of my nature as a firstborn child. I used to micro-manage my day. I would lay in bed at night and plan out conversations I might have the next day. I would consider all the possibilities of all the things that would – our could – take place. I’d save every little thing, convincing myself, “Someday I might need this four inch piece of string.” I couldn’t help but consider every contingency, certain that potential danger was lurking behind every corner. I wanted to be in control; maybe I unconsciously needed to be in control.

What I didn’t realize about this natural compulsion was that it is the dictionary definition of anxiety:

full of mental distress or uneasiness because of fear of danger or misfortune; greatly worried; solicitous; earnestly desirous; eager; attended with or showing solicitude or uneasiness; anxious forebodings.

Anxiety is wrapping myself up in myself. It is being trapped by my own thoughts.

Thankfully, God has given to me a new nature, and I’m learning to trust Him rather than to be wrapped up in the sin of my worries.

Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness …. and do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble (Matthew 6:33, 34).

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus (Philippians 4:6-7).

 

5 thoughts on “Trapped in My Own Thoughts

  1. Pingback: Trapped in My Own Thoughts | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

