One Day I


One day

One day I decided to go to church with my friend.

One day I listened to the pastor talk about God’s wonderful plan for my life.

One day I wanted to go to Heaven.

One day I believed in God.

One day I raised my hand, I walked forward, I repeated a prayer, I accepted Jesus.

One day I chose to give my life to Jesus.

One day I was saved.

Who was this “one day” about? Who received the glory on this “one day”?

God said, “I will have mercy on whomever I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whomever I will have compassion.” So then it is not of him who wills, nor of him who runs, but of God who shows mercy (Romans 9:15-16).

3 thoughts on “One Day I

  1. So true … so true Richard … so often we make it about what we do … the ‘I’ … when it is really all about what God had done, is doing and will do … the ‘I AM’

    1. People talk about salvation being a gift, then go on to describe some act worthy of earning salvation. It becomes a reward for some meritorious act like saying a prayer (if you ask for it, it’s no longer a gift); repenting (if you must change your direction to be saved, you’ve done a most worthy and meritorious deed); activating believing faith (which Ephesians 2:8-9 says is also a gift) etc. All these are but a human response to the new birth, not the origination of it. If I add anything to the act of redemption, it makes me a co-redeemer. God alone redeems.

      Thanks for inspiring another blog post!!!!

  2. Isaac Mathembe

    Thanks for this very misunderstood message by many.I wish all would have this knowledge.Did you know that even many who teach of grace don’t even understand it from a biblical perspective?

Leave a Reply

