Ugh! What a Big Baby!


Coco's Bakery

I grew up as the oldest in a family of five kids. Yes, thank you for your condolences. You who are eldest children know my great burden …

Anyway, it was never easy dealing with little kids. They cried. They were selfish. They could make faces, pout, and get away with things I couldn’t even try to do. They were babies and I didn’t like it one bit. In fact, my mother has photographs of me as a toddler, sitting on a stack of books and sucking on the pacifier I stole from my little sister’s slobbery mouth.

As I grew up, it became easier to deal with babies. Sometimes the babies were even cute, but it took a degree of maturity in me to see babies that way. It took even longer to be able to get along with those babies. With maturity came patience with those less mature than myself.

Have you ever noticed that old people love babies? They’ve matured enough that they actually find joy in babes who act like babes. They adore being around little children, even when those children are spoiled brats. With maturity has come a level of patience.

Do you have a difficult time being around spiritually immature people? Is it difficult spending time with Christian adults who pout and whine? Those who ought to act more grown up than they do? If it’s hard for you, it could be that you are … I know this is hard to hear … that you are immature in your faith too.

One of the benefits of maturing in your faith is that you’ll evidence more of Christ’s nature, including the fruit of patience.

The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control (Galatians 5:22-23).

3 thoughts on “Ugh! What a Big Baby!

  1. Pingback: Ugh! What a Big Baby! | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

