I Missed the Memo


tickled ears

A friend got a call inviting her to attend church on Sunday.

You have to hear our minister. He’s good looking, charming, and has a great sense of humor.

It was hard to hear because I know my friend’s pastor to be a godly and gifted Bible teacher. More troubling was the dishonor given to the Lord Jesus, the One for whom the church exists.

Since when did Sunday service become about an attractive, charming, humorous pastor? When was the Word of God demoted? When was the glory of Jesus Christ eliminated from our purpose of gathering together? When did appearance and entertainment become our god?

I missed the memo.

Preach the Word! Be ready in season and out of season. Convince, rebuke, exhort, with all longsuffering and teaching. For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine, but according to their own desires, because they have itching ears, they will heap up for themselves teachers; and will turn their ears away from the truth, and be turned aside to fables (2 Timothy 4:2-4).

 

2 thoughts on “I Missed the Memo

  1. Pingback: I Missed the Memo | Christians Anonymous

  2. Yes, yes, yes … so often we invite folks to church vs. inviting them to meet Jesus. I had a season away from the church that lasted about 8 years and it was a period where my wife and I experienced great spiritual growth and fruitfulness and truly found ourselves growing IN Christ. Folks we had attended church with us, would always start the convo with ‘What church do you go to?’ and our none response immediately got us treated like pagans and heathens. No one ever asked ‘How’ you walk with Christ?’ Yes, I missed the memo too … I wonder who might have written that epistle? 😉

Leave a Reply

