Stop Looking at Your Hands


pen in hand

I sat at a large round table at the edge of the library. Open books lay spread around me. On my left was a woman eating, and as she ate food flew from her spoon and her mouth onto my work. To my right was a man asleep and snoring.

All I could see was the pen in my hand pressed hard against a blank sheet of paper. The pen didn’t move because there were no words in my mind. I glanced in a panic at the wall clock. It was almost time for class to begin and I’d have to turn in my report. I kept looking at my hand. My mind was as empty as the sheet of paper on the table. I sat frustrated, fearful, panicked, alone. Utter failure lay before me.

Then the alarm sounded and I awoke from my dream.

There was reason for the Israelites to be afraid. The Philistine army with its giants were camped across the creek. Each day their champion Goliath would step from his tent and mock the God of Israel. Goliath was so intimidating that Israelite soldiers were defecting to the enemy camp. Here they were, on the eve of battle, and the Israelite army could muster only two swords: one for the king and the other for his son (1 Samuel 13:19-22).

Wrapped in the cover of night, the king’s son Jonathan and his lone servant sneaked to the edge of the Philistine encampment and waited. Jonathan reasoned that it may be that the Lord will work for us. For nothing restrains the Lord from saving by many or by few (1 Samuel 14:6).

The guards spotted the two Hebrews and called them forward. The Bible records that Jonathan then killed 20 of the Philistines (vv 11-14) before the tents of slumbering soldiers awoke. When they awakened there was trembling in the camp, in the field, and among all the people. The garrison and the raiders also trembled; and the earth quaked, so that it was a very great trembling (v 15). The panic caused the Philistine hordes to turn and kill each other.

So the Lord saved Israel that day (v 23). When you entrust yourself to the Lord, even your enemy’s weapons become His weapons.

A short time later, a young lad named David entered the battlefield against the Philistine armies. With only a sling and six small rocks, God delivered the enemy into Israel’s empty hand (1 Samuel 17:50).

Don’t panic or fear. God is still present. He is still as powerful as He was in the beginning. He still watches over and defends His name and His people. Stop looking at your hands and see the mighty hand of God!

One thought on “Stop Looking at Your Hands

  1. Pingback: Stop Looking at Your Hands | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

