He’s an Old Man – Isaiah


old-man-young-man

For the first time since graduating from high school, I saw someone I went to school with. Scott’s hair was grey and he had wrinkling on his face. He looked like an old man.

I leaned over to the stranger seated next to me and said, “It’s so strange. For the first time since high school, I’ve just seen someone I graduated with … he looks so old.”

“Did you graduate in the 70s?” she asked me.

“No, 1985.”

“Oh.”

On the drive home I thought about seeing Scott and how old he looked. Then I considered the woman who believed I was a decade older than I really am. I thought to myself, “Wow! If she thought I look ten years older than I am, Scott must look 20 years older than his actual age!” I felt better.

It’s quite natural for us to compare ourselves with others. As we do so, we can always find someone we out perform and feel good about ourselves. We even find ways of comparing our actions against other people. But in the end of life, other people will not be our judge nor the standard by which we are judged. The Judge will be Jesus Christ and we will be measured according to Him as the standard.

The things we think impress God are unimpressive: we are all like an unclean thing, and all our righteousnesses are like filthy rags (Isaiah 64:6).

The only way to impress God is to have the One who was perfect give you His perfection. Is that even possible? Yes! Jesus was perfect, and by trusting Jesus alone to be your Saviour from sin, God puts the rightness of Jesus onto your account (Romans 4:22-25). When this happens, God no longer sees your failed life, He sees the perfect life of His Son in you.

2 thoughts on “He’s an Old Man – Isaiah

  1. Pingback: He's an Old Man - Isaiah | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

