Call Me Superman!!!


superman

In early May I bought a Superman costume. I put it on as soon as it arrived in the afternoon mail. For an entire month I wore that costume night and day. I only took it off when I showered. I looked like Superman. I talked like Superman. I signed my name as “Superman.” Despite their rolling eyes, I insisted that my wife and son call me Superman.

On June 6th I sent the costume back. After enormous effort (and great disappointment) I couldn’t run faster than a speeding bullet. I wasn’t more powerful than a locomotive and I couldn’t even jump up the stairs let alone leap tall buildings in a single bound. It didn’t work. I was still me.

You can wear a suit and call yourself anything you like … it doesn’t mean you are that thing.

You can grow long hair, put on makeup, get hormone injections and call yourself any name you like … it doesn’t mean male chromosomes becomes female.

It’s the same in the spiritual realm. Have you ever known someone who said a prayer, joined a church, or made some religious confession and then walked away from it all? Fact is, religious profession isn’t Christianity and religious actions don’t mean you’re born again.

It has happened to them according to the true proverb. A dog returns to his own vomit and a sow, having washed, to her wallowing in the mire (2 Peter 2:22).

One thought on “Call Me Superman!!!

  1. Pingback: Call Me Superman!!! | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

