Straightening Shirley Temple’s Curls


Shirely Temple

As Jesus passed by, He saw a man who was blind from birth. His disciples asked, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?” (John 9:1-2).

It was a very difficult time. I was in a battle with the administrators of my son’s high school and the district school board over an anti-Christian curriculum. I was face-to-face with the loss of my job and income to provide for my family and ministry overseas. My congregation was being forced to either relocate or close. And I was most severely depressed.

One day I added a brief note to Facebook asking for prayer. Instead of messages of comfort, assurances of prayer, and reminders of God’s goodness, what I got was so vile and mean-spirited that it would have straightened Shirley Temple’s curled hair!

Accusations of God’s judgment for abandoning the faith. Ridicule for teaching the Bible verse-by-verse. Condemnation for blaspheming the Holy Spirit by mentioning the Christ-exalting preaching of J Vernon McGee and John MacArthur. Comments were even made here, on this blog, which I quickly deleted. Blocking the vitriol only increased the intensity of attack.

Without a friend to turn to, I patiently waited for my wife to return home. She did her best in the confusion to make sense of the comments, but they were also too much for her. Her silence met with my deep woundedness and anger.

It’s been said that Christians are the only people who make a habit of shooting their own wounded. Jesus’ disciples attacked the blind man, assuming that his problem was the result of some evil in either his life or that of his parents. Jesus had a very different answer: Neither this man nor his parents sinned, but that the works of God should be revealed in him (John 9:3).

When a Christian wounded, brothers and sisters apply the healing balm of God’s Word mixed with love and sympathy. Divine love moves us to rejoice with those who rejoice, and weep with those who weep (Romans 12:15).

To every wounded warrior, the wounds may be deep, but wait with me in anticipation of the revelation of the works of God in us.

Leave a Reply

