Thumpity-Thump in the Night


Thumpity Thump

It wasn’t the sound that woke me up this morning, but the thumping vibration echoing through house, shaking both me and the bed. I looked at the light-blue clock display on the nightstand and realized it was too early for my new neighbor from Illinois to be warming his truck to the bass beat of some hip-hop artist.

I sat up and looked at my wife in the dim light of the moon shining through the window. I placed my right hand on her upper arm. The vibration and definite “thump” were still all around me, but not pulsing through her body.

I rolled over and pulled the quilt up around my head. The noise and shaking were like the insanely steady beat of a hammer against a solid metal post.

I reached for my pillow and piled it atop my head, leaving just enough room for breathing. Still the sound. Still the thumping. It was louder and more pronounced than before.

Unable to bear the throbbing coursing through my body and mind, I stood and peered out the open window above the bed. The sound had been too steady to be anyone banging on the outside of the house. In fact, it took me a moment, but I was convinced that the sound was emanating from my own house … no … from my own body.

I pressed my hands hard over my ears, but the noise seemed to grow louder and more forceful. The only explanation was that I was having a bad dream. This alone explained the palpable thumping and my wife’s still-deep slumber.

My hand reached for the Bible kept on the floor next to the bed. Here I would find either comfort until I awoke or boredom until I fell back to sleep. The Book dropped open and by the light of the moon I read:

redeeming the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be unwise, but understand what the will of the Lord is (Ephesians 5:16-17).

The thudding vibration immediately gave way to deafening silence. A single thought passed through my mind. Time is the precious beating pulse of eternity. Do not waste what little you have. 

2 thoughts on “Thumpity-Thump in the Night

  1. Pingback: Thumpity-Thump in the Night | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

