A New Name


IMG_20150709_161621446_HDR
My Kamba Family Staff

I am adopted.

While in Kenya last month, I was adopted into my best friend’s family. The eldest member of the family gave me a Kamba name, Musyoka, meaning, “If you leave, you must come back.

Through this adoption, I receive all the rights, benefits, and responsibilities of a natural-born son.

As the oldest male in the family, my adoption also brings the great responsibility of leading the family. My position and authority was affirmed by a tribal tribal staff. This responsibility means that no family member may do anything affecting the family without my consent.

This is not unlike what happens when a sinner is born again. He is adopted into the family of God (Ephesians 1:4-5), given a new name (Revelation 2:17), made an heir of God and co-heir with Jesus (Romans 8:16-17), and given new rights and responsibilities in the household of God (1 Timothy 3:15).

Jesus said, To him who overcomes I will give some of the hidden manna to eat. And I will give him a white stone, and on the stone a new name written which no one knows except him ho receives it (Revelation 2:17).

** Help build a Bible College in Kenya. Click here for details: Click HERE

*** Watch the video made from our ministry trip to Kenya in June: Click HERE

3 thoughts on “A New Name

  1. Pingback: A New Name | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

