An Ogre’s Heart


Shrek 8.13.2015

Norma Mourer and her husband Roy had been my grandparents’ pastor many years before. I get to know Norma the last 20 years of my life. She was one of those people I’d call a dear old saint. 

One evening after church, Norma and I were talking and I asked if she still struggled with sin. She turned a bit flustered and replied, Yes, but I’m not going to tell you what my sin is.

To turn a phrase from a famous ogre, Sin is like an onion. Sin has layers. Peel one layer away, thinking it’s conquered, and another lies below. We all have an ogre’s heart.

Sin is one of the common denominators of humanity. Imagine the ability to see what’s going on in someone’s mind. Frightful! Yet that’s what God can do. The Bible says that The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked; who can know it?  I, the Lord, search the heart, I test the mind, even to give every man according to his ways, and according to the fruit of his doings (Jeremiah 17:9).

The heart of a Christian is no different than the unsaved person, except that his sins are forgiven through the precious blood of Jesus.

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me (Psalm 51:10).

** Help build a Bible College in Kenya. Click here for details: Click HERE

*** Watch the video made from our ministry trip to Kenya in June: Click HERE

One thought on “An Ogre’s Heart

  1. Pingback: An Ogre's Heart | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

