Supper at the Lord’s Table


Lord's Table 11 2015

The knock on the door proved to be the most significant event of my life. It was a messenger from Jesus bearing an invitation to dinner with Him Sunday evening at 6 o’clock.

The invitation took me to a church building with lit up windows and about a dozen cars.

I presented my invitation and was led to a room with 12 guests seated around the Lord’s table, each guest with a name tag. I was brought to a folding chair by the door and then noticed there were no empty places at the table.

Soon I heard a well-dressed woman at the table chide a younger woman next to her. “You’ve come to have dinner with Jesus and you’re dressed like that? Don’t you have any respect for the King of kings?” The younger woman shot back: “At least I don’t pretend to be something I’m not! Jesus doesn’t care how I’m dressed, He loves me just as I am!

Just as I am?” asked a man. “If that’s the kind of music tonight, I’m not sure I can stay. They need something new and contemporary that will speak to our generation. They should have held an earlier dinner for that old-fashioned stuff.” Another woman shook her head. She believed Jesus would sing the old hymns and added that if the man had a problem, he ought to find another table.

Harry and Jackie, husband and wife, excused themselves from the table and approached to the doorman standing next to me. “Sir, can we sit at the other end of the table? We’d prefer not sit next to that other couple. We’ll pretend to like them, but they’re stuck-up blabber-mouths.” The doorman explained that Jesus Himself made the seating arrangements at His table.

The couple sitting next to Harry and Jackie came to the doorman also to complain. “Someone made a mistake. We can’t sit by them. Neither of them smiled at us when we arrived tonight. They don’t like us. In fact, if they stay we’ll leave.” The doorman assured the couple that Jesus personally made the invitations and He made no mistakes.

Soon all the guests at the Lord’s table were complaining about something or someone. I was glad not to be at the table, but disappointed Jesus had no place for me at His Supper.

The side door opened and Jesus walked suddenly into the room. “Please enjoy your dinner,” He said hastily and turned to me. Jesus shook my hand and invited me to follow after Him. “This is the table for the children. Come into the other room and dine with Me.”

In giving these instructions I do not praise you, since you come together not for the better but for the worse. Therefore when you come together in one place, it is not to eat the Lord’s Supper (1 Corinthians 11:17, 20).

Leave a Reply

