I Was an Ant Whisperer


Carpenter Ants 10.1.15

Like most little boys, I was invincible around girls. At the age of four or five, I found a nest of big, black carpenter ants out near the sidewalk. Bare-handed, I bravely captured as many of the little bugs as possible and put them into my wagon. Then, barefoot, in front of my adoring female fans, I stood in the center of the wagon unflinching!

The ants walked this way and that. Some ventured onto my feet and I flicked them away. The girls were impressed until something went wrong. I don’t know if ants can sense panic, but they suddenly made a concerted attack against my naked legs and feet. I’d become prey.

I leaped out of the wagon like Superman jetting from a telephone booth. Right there on the sidewalk at Second and Edison, in front of God, half the county, and my adoring group of neighbor girls, I did a little dance … and it wasn’t the happy dance.

Wish I could say it was my last such encounter with bugs, but it wasn’t. Some of us just take longer to learn.

A funny thing happens when we try to impress other people: wisdom and common sense go out the window. Willing to look like fools, we’ll do things we wouldn’t do any other time or place.

Some people try to impress God. They give money to a good cause, join a church, swear off certain bad habits, and make all sorts of promises. There’s nothing wrong with these things, it’s just that God isn’t impressed by them.

It’s not your achievements or efforts, your schooling or work history, your sacrifices or talents which please or impress God. It’s faith in the God you can only see in the pages of the Bible (John 20:20-21).

Without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is and the He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him (Hebrews 11:6).

Leave a Reply

