A Sprained World – Philippians


swollen ankle

The parking lot was full as I walked to the door of the gym. My shoes made their familiar “flip-flop” sound. I stepped too close to the edge of the sidewalk, fell over the 5 inch curb, and twisted my foot under me. I was on my back on the pavement, my ankle turned sideways. I laid there a few moments, people coming and going from the gym, before hopping up and announcing the famous, “I’m okay.”

Inside the door a staff member asked if I needed ice or anything. My little toe was scraped and bleeding, my ankle ached, but I sucked up the pain and told her I was just fine. I kept walking, despite the pain.

By bedtime, the area around my little toe was not only scraped and scabbed, but bruised.  It was nothing compared to my ankle: swollen, deep purple, and very sore. A sprained ankle isn’t any fun.

Paul reminded the Christians in Philippi that they were living in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation (Philippians 2:15).  The Greek word for “perverted” speaks of something turned thoroughly into a new shape which is distorted, twisted, perverted opposite from the shape or form it should be.

It’s easy to slip off the sidewalk and fall to the ground in a world that is twisted and perverted. God urges us to shine as lights in the world, holding fast the word of life (Philippians 2:15-16). That Word of life gives us the strength and stability to keep from becoming twisted like the world around us.

2 thoughts on “A Sprained World – Philippians

  1. I did a similar thing, walking home in the dark… A difficult time in my life, my mind was on other things. I walked headlong into a tree! Looking back I can see the funny side (you see, I was sending a text message at the time -silly moment) Hope your ankle has recovered by now.

Leave a Reply

