Disabled


Ann Njoki
Ann Njoki

God told Moses to return to Egypt and relay a message to the most powerful man on earth: Let My people go. There was one problem. Moses was not eloquent. He was slow of speech and slow of tongue (Exodus 4:10). Most Bible teachers understand this to mean that Moses had a speech impediment. He likely stuttered. That’s a real disability for a public speaker.

Most of us have something we count a disability. I have very poor eyesight and have lost most of the grip in my left hand. I’m careful not to carry anything breakable with my left hand. Some disabilities are more difficult to work with than others.

Consider God’s answer to Moses. So the Lord said to him, “Who has made man’s mouth? Or who makes the mute, the deaf, the seeing, or the blind? Have not I, the Lord? (Exodus 4:11). God says that He makes the disabled!

At this point many Christians would argue with God. They don’t believe that He makes people with disabilities or gives them sicknesses. To them, every disability is the direct work of Satan, chance, an accident, or a sinful lifestyle.

Moses tried to use his disability or inability as an excuse to disobey God; but God had made his mouth. The real disability Moses had wasn’t that he stuttered, but that he didn’t believe God could use him.

So often we compare ourselves to the things society adores. The perfect nose. A radio voice. A great mind. An education. Wealth. Then we use those comparisons as reasons not to obey the Bible. God, however, made Moses as He did, so that He could work His purpose, power, and glory through that weakness. Go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall say (Exodus 4:12).

Jesus said, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong (2 Corinthians 12:9-10).

** Dedicated to my Kenyan friend, Ann Njoki, who doesn’t let her disability stop her from serving Jesus.

Leave a Reply

