It’s Been a Long Road


Been a Long Road

 

 

American rock music icon David Bowie died in mid-January 2016, of cancer. His death came only three days after the release of his latest album and his 69th birthday.

In the lyrics of one of his new songs, Lazarus, he envisioned his own death and being in Heaven.

Look up here, I’m in heaven / I’ve got scars that can’t be seen / I’ve got drama, can’t be stolen / Everybody knows me now

In 2004, Bowie said that he had “experimented” with Christianity, which “didn’t stick.”

I was young, fancy free and Tibetan Buddhism appealed to me at that time. I thought, ‘There’s salvation.’ It didn’t really work. Then I went through Nietzsche, Satanism, Christianity … pottery, and ended up singing. It’s been a long road.

Bowie is known for making his own way through the glitz and glamor of the music business. He became very successful by worldly standards. He followed the advice of Frank Sinatra and did it his way. Even churches in the US are called upon to follow Bowie’s fashion, art, music, and sexually vivid example in performing Sunday morning music.

Rock has always been the devil’s music, you can’t convince me that it isn’t. I honestly believe everything I’ve said—I believe rock and roll is dangerous. … I feel that we’re only heralding something even darker than ourselves” (David Bowie in Rolling Stone, February 12, 1976)

There is a way that seems right to a man, but its end is the way of death (Proverbs 16:25).

Leave a Reply

